Categories
Education

Rwandan Diaspora :Women Who Inspire-Series III

Today we are meeting  Gisele Umviligihozo, a PhD candidate in Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University (public research university in Canada, ) and a basic science researcher in Immuno-Virology. She spends most of her working time in the laboratory, using biomolecular laboratory techniques to learn more about viral infections and to better understand the protective and defense mechanisms of the human organism. Outside her work, she  loves exploring new places and new cultures.

Gisele Umviligihozo, a PhD candidate in Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University (public research university in Canada, ) and a science researcher in Immuno-Virology.

We had few minutes to connect with her and discussed about the following:

What goes through your mind when you think of women who joined the workforce before you?

  • I admire the bravery of women who joined the workforce before and I am grateful to them for leading our way.

When did you first realize you were interested in science? 

  • Growing up, I was fascinated by the diversity of living organisms; the curiosity to understand their nature led me to love science. I didn’t know what science was, I just followed the path that gave answers to my questions.

 Have you drawn professional inspiration from other women? Tell us about someone who has inspired you.

  • I work in a field dominated by men and I have been mainly inspired by men. There are not many female role models in basic science fields until today. That’s why it’s important to talk about it and encourage young women to join. I was inspired and supported by my parents to follow my passion. I wasn’t told I couldn’t do science as a woman, I just had to make my own choice from endless options. I was also lucky to have great mentors, who believed in me and guided me along the way.

What are the challenges that you see in our Rwandan American community that discourage women from achieving their careers?

  • The main challenge women face in our Rwandan American community is the inability to make their career a priority; which becomes more difficult when combined with the lack of support from their work institutions, family and community. Women need to develop personal strength, determination and stay focused on their career goals.

What would you tell young women who want to follow your path? What would you like them to know?

  • I would encourage young women to follow their passion. They must know that nothing should limit their potential because they are capable of anything. But they must be determined to do their part and not give up easily.

  As of now, what is the top achievement that you are proud of?

  • So far, I am proud of my contribution to science and I am also honored to learn that I can inspire young women to join scientific fields.

Thank you so much for your time Gisele! If you’re reading this and have an inspiring story ,please reach out to me, I’ll be happy to share it with the world.

Leave a comment